This guide will walk you through the required step to remove EMR access to one of your Juno EMR users.


1) Removing the Security Record

Start by deleting the user’s security record. This will prevent them from accessing your EMR moving forward with their existing credentials. To do so, follow the steps below:

  1. From the schedule page, click on “Administration” to open the admin panel. (“Admin” on the Juno UI.)
  2. On the left, click on the “User Management” to expand that tab of the menu.
  3. Click on the “Search/Edit/Delete Security Records” link.
  4. Using the search tool at the top of the page, find the security record you want to remove. Security record searches can be done by user name or provider number. Clicking the “Search” button without any information entered in the text field will yield a list of all existing records.
  5. Click on the username you want to remove in the “User Name” column of the table. This will take you to the “Update a Security Record” page.
  6. Click on the “Delete Record” button located at the bottom of the form.


2) Removing access roles

After deleting the Security Record, proceed with removing the access roles associated with this user’s account. To do so, follow the steps below:

  1. From the schedule page, click on “Administration” to open the admin panel. (“Admin” on the Juno UI.)
  2. On the left, click on the “User Management” to expand that tab of the menu.
  3. Click on the “Assign Role to Provider” link.
  4. Locate the provider you want to edit, then click on the “Delete” button located on the far right of each line. The “Delete” button must be clicked once for each role the removed user has. A system administrator, for example, will likely have two roles to remove: “doctor” and “admin”.

3) Inactivating the provider record

Once both the security record and the access roles have been removed, users will no longer be able to access the EMR. This allows your clinic to complete outstanding administrative tasks such as moving appointments to another provider, running reports on the patient list or completing billing for the current billing cycle. Once all tasks have been completed, inactivate the provider records to prevent it from being included in the various drop downs in the EMR. You can do so by following the process detailed below.

Classic UI

  1. From the schedule page, click on “Administration” to open the admin panel.
  2. On the left, click on the “User Management” to expand that tab of the menu.
  3. Click on the “Search/Edit/Delete Provider Records” link.
  4. Locate the provider record you wish to inactivate. You may use the search tool located at the top of the page to search for the record. When searching, type in the last name first (‘last name, first name’).
  5. Click on the provider ID on the left. This will open the provider edit page.
  6. Locate the “Status” drop down, and change the selected value to “Inactive”.
  7. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on the “Update Record” button.

Juno UI

  1. From the schedule page, click on “Admin” to open the administration panel. The “Admin” tab may be hidden under the “More” option if you are using Juno with a smaller screen display.
  2. On the left, click on the “User Management” to expand that tab of the menu.
  3. Click on the “Manage Users” link.
  4. Locate the provider record you want to inactivate in the user list.
  5. Click on the “Edit” icon () to edit the provider record.
  6. Locate the “Status” drop down located in the “User Information” section, and change the selected value to “Inactive”.
  7. Click on the “Update User” button at the bottom of the page.